Get your free website from Spanglefish

Parish of Whorlton

The Parish of Whorlton is rather known as the Parish of Swainby. In 1498 the ancient parish of Whorlton was struck by the Black Death plague decimating its inhabitants. After this event, the 10 survivors moved down the hill from the ancient village of Whorlton to a new settlement, which later developed and is known today as Swainby. There are three villages and churches in the Parish of Whorlton:

1) The church of the Holy Cross in Swainby

2) The old church of the Holy Cross in Whorlton

3) St Mary's church in Potto  

sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement